How to disable the Restore feature on OS X Lion

The ” reset ” of OS X Lion can be useful for those who want to close an application and, once opened, to find again open any windows that you were using, so you pick up right where you had left.

Very often, it is a cause of discomfort for those who see open old projects in heavy-duty applications, such as iMovie, that, in case you have no need to resume use, make the very slow application restart. In this guide, so we’ll see how to disable the Restore feature on OS X Lion.

  • If you wish to disable the feature for all applications, the procedure is very simple: you only need to open System Preferences, click on ” General ” and uncheck ” Restore windows when I go out on the applications and reopen “. This way, you have solved the problem by turning the reset function for all applications.
  • In case, you want to disable the function only for some specific applications the procedure is more cumbersome and requires the use of terminal. I recommend using Terminal for advanced users only, because through this application, you can change the system settings.
  • To disable the function only to some applications you need to open the Finder, after which click ” Go ” from the drop-down menu at the top. Once the pull-down menu open, you must hold down the ” alt ” key on the keyboard, which will bring up the ” Library ” ; click on it. At this point, look for the folder ” Saved Application State ” and open it. Each folder relates to an application that supports the restore function.
  • At this point, you need to use Terminal. Press the ” File ” button from the top drop-down menu and click ” New Finder ” window. Press then ” Applications ” from the side menu and scroll down to the ” Utilities ” folder. In it we will find the Terminal application, which must be opened with a double-click.
  • At this point you simply copy this command string:

defaults write (ApplicationName) NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows bool false

and replace the field “(ApplicationName)” with the name of the folder on the application, we have previously found in Saved Application State folder, without the extension. ” savedState

So for example if we want to disable the feature for the application Photoshop, which folder is called ” com. Adobe. Photoshop. SavedState ” we will have to write in terminal:

defaults write com. Adobe.Photoshop NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false

and press enter.

You might also like More from author